JEFFERSON PARISH MARRIAGE LICENSE INFO:
You may contact the Marriage License Department at (504) 364-2922 or (504) 364-2923 (West Bank); (504) 736-6390 (East Bank); or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org. Office hours are 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays. HOWEVER, if obtaining a passport or marriage license, please be at the office no later than 4:15 P.M. in order for us to complete the process by closing time.
In applying for a marriage license, at least one party must appear in person; and he/she must have all the necessary information and documents, outlined below.
Birth certificates for those born in the State of Louisiana may be obtained from the La. Bureau of Vital Statistics’ Orleans Parish office (Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras St. Ste. 400, New Orleans), which has walk-in hours of 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. That office may be contacted at (504) 593-5100.
Documents Required to Obtain a Marriage License
1. Certified true copy of birth certificate for each party OR, if the person was born outside of Louisiana, a letter signed by the proper registration authority, under his raised seal or stamp, that states that a thorough search was made and that no birth record was located for the applicant. (La. R.S. 9:227(A))
If either applicant was born in a country other than the United States, and the birth certificate provided was prepared in a language other than English, the clerk of court may may demand other proof of birth facts (La. R.S. 9:227(B)), such as a passport or driver’s license or other document(s) that contains the applicants’ full name and date of birth, and may require a translation of the submitted documents. Photocopies of applicants’ identification will not be accepted. Providing a translation is no guarantee that the birth certificate will be accepted and a license issued. The deputy clerk must be able to discern the document’s facts.
If either party cannot produce a certified copy of his/her birth certificate due to extenuating circumstances, a waiver issued by a justice of the peace or district judge MUST be provided.
2. State law prohibits the marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption within the fourth degree collateral (example: first cousins and certain aunts or uncles).
3. Applicants must state the number of previous marriages (if any) and whether he/she is divorced or a widow, and provide the month and year the previous marriage ended. Applicants do not have to supply copies of divorce decrees or judgments, but must be prepared to state the month and year the divorce was granted.
4. Applicants are also required to supply their Social Security numbers. If an applicant does not have a U.S. Social Security number, he/she must appear in person at the time of application to sign and date a statement before the issuing clerk stating they do not have a social security number (La. R.S.9:224(A)(6)).
5. A medical certificate is not required.
6. A Louisiana marriage license is valid in any parish in Louisiana for a period of 30 days from issuance. There is a 72-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. If there is a need for the ceremony to occur prior to the expiration of the 72-hour waiting period, you may apply for a waiver which must be signed by a district judge or justice of the peace authorized to perform the marriage.
7. Your completed marriage license application, which may be downloaded here. Either the bride or the groom must each complete this application, and this form must be presented by either applicant in person at either our East Bank or West Bank offices.
8. Only one applicant is required to come into the office to complete the application, but that person must have all documents and social security numbers for both applicants.
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. If an applicant is under 18 years of age, both parents must appear in person with applicant. If either applicant is under 16 years of age, applicant and parents must appear before a juvenile judge for permission to marry and must present state ID or drivers license before a marriage license can be issued. If one parent has sole custody certified documents must be presented showing sole custody. No temporary orders are acceptable.
The fee for obtaining a marriage license is $31.25. A copy of a marriage license is $5.00. If a waiver is required, there will be an additional fee of $2.50 per waiver. Cash, money order, personal checks, or certified or cashiers checks are accepted. We are planning to provide for payment by credit card or check card in the very near future. By Louisiana law, the clerk of court transfers over forty percent of the above fees to the program for the Program of Victims of Family Violence.
The Jefferson Parish Clerk of Court does not provide birth certificate service. The Orleans Parish location of the Louisiana Bureau of Vital Statistics (Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras St. Ste. 400, New Orleans) has walk-in hours of 8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. and will provide birth and death certificates for Jefferson and Orleans parishes. That office may be contacted at (504) 593-5100.
Newlyweds should order a certified copy of their marriage license two weeks after the marriage to insure that the license has been returned and recorded.
Bride's Name Change
Brides do not automatically get husbands name. A process must be done with certified copies of the marriage certificate. Brides do not cancel insurance under maiden names, do not think your name changes automatically. Do not begin to use any name but yours until after the wedding, after you have certified copies, and after you begin the process to change your name. Using a new name without going through the paperwork causes problems. Be patient and do things after you get the certified copy and begin the change of name process. Never cancel any insurance with out a frank discussion with your insurance adviser. The state issues certified copies to you not the Minister. Contact the office you obtained your license to get a certified copy. They take time to process the license and mail one to you. Besides the state a private company also gets certified copies of licenses and birth records for you. See my blog for more info: http://frenchquarterweddings.blogspot.com/2013/06/brides-change-name-to-husbands-after.html
A State Marriage License is good in any
city. Identification is required along with authentic copies of birth
certificates and any divorce judgments. In some cities there is a three-day
waiting period from the time the license is issued, it can be waived by a judge.
In New Orleans a Minister can also waive the waiting period for non-residents if
good reasons exist. No medical tests are necessary. The license is good for 30
days. You must present the license to the person doing the ceremony in advance
as it requires the minister to complete some portions in black ink and he must
mail it back to the issuing office. You will get a complimentary certificate and
instructions on how to order a certified one after the original is recorded. You
must order a certified copy from the Office you obtained the License. They
provide a form to order a certified copy. Sample forms are found here: http://figstreet.com/weddings/licenseinfo09.html A ceremony must be conducted before 2 adult
witnesses who also sign the certificates. The cost of the license is
just under $30.00 paid to the State. For further information on marriage
licenses contact any of the Clerk's offices below.
Certified Copy Of Marriage Certificate after the Marriage
After your wedding the state copy of the license is mailed by
the officiant to the office that issued the license. That office
processes the license and provides a certified copy. You should order a
certified copy at the time you get the license. The State indicates it
takes 30 to 60 days for them to process after the ceremony. If you do
not get a certified copy after ordering it you should contact the office
that issued you the license. There is additional information on ordering
a copy at the State
page with instructions and forms located here:
Forms to Order Certified Copies
HOW TO ORDER CERTIFIED COPIES
INTERNET, FAX AND TELEPHONE TO GET CERTIFIED COPIES OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE
You may use a major credit card to place internet, fax or telephone orders through VitalChek Network, an authorized service provider. There are additional fees when using this service provider or requesting expedited services.
To order using the VitalChek Network, click here or call 1-877-605-8562.
To check the status of a VitalChek Network order, click here.
To inquire about an order placed with VitalChek, please call 1-877-605-8562.
Louisiana Office of Public Health does not directly accept credit cards or online orders; however, for your convenience, you can process online requests through the independent company that we have partnered with above in order to provide you with this service, VitalChek Network, Inc. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.
Changing Your Name After A New Orleans Wedding
It is a tradition in western cultures that a bride takes the last name
of the husband, it is not a requirement to do so. You need to order several
certified copies of your marriage certificate from the office you received your
license. Usually this is done when you apply for your marriage license by
prepaying for certified copies to be mailed to you.
1. A new drivers license should be obtained by going to your local
motor vehicle office with a certified copy of the marriage certificate. That
office will help you get a new license with the marriage name. They may charge a
fee so you should call before going to get particulars. You may also need to
change your auto title and auto insurance.
2. A new Social Security Card should be obtained by getting the
necessary forms off the web at:
can mail the form in or go in person to your local office but you need a
certified copy of your marriage license to present to them. You can telephone
them for details.
3. A new Passport can be obtained by going in person to a local office
or following the directions on the State Department page at
4. You will also need to change your name with banks, credit card companies,
landlords, and any other agency that has your name on record. Generally by
getting the first 3 done the rest are easier as some agencies will accept the
new drivers license as proof of you new name.
5. Be sure the IRS, Voter Registration, your insurance agent, and CPA also
knows of the name change so that they make the necessary charges to their
New Orleans Weddings Locations
Eloping to New Orleans is fun either for a weekend away or before a
cruise out to sea. There are many beautiful locations in New Orleans to perform
a simple wedding ceremony, City Park, Audubon Park, Jackson Square, French
Quarter, West End Park, or along the Lake Front. The City of New Orleans gives
permission for the use of public places and each park has rules. The
particular park should be contacted for permission to do a wedding in that park.
The City of New Orleans should be contacted for permission to do a wedding at
Jackson Square. I have provided a list of links to see some locations on the
left of this page my favorite simple wedding spots are City Park and Pirates
Alley but there are many more.
New Orleans Wedding Minister
A clergyman, judge, Justice of the Peace, or registered celebrant can perform a marriage
ceremony. The ceremony must be before two adult witnesses. It can be religious,
civil, simple or complex. You can choose your ceremony, officiant, and location
in New Orleans. Louisiana does not allow same sex marriages.
Dr. JK Schwehm, wedding minister and former Louisiana Justice of the
Peace, has performed hundreds of wedding ceremonies for 14 years in the
greater New Orleans area. See his web page linked below for details and to have
him perform your marriage ceremony in Louisiana.
ORLEANS PARISH MARRIAGE LICENSE
1450 Poydras St, Rm 407
New Orleans, LA
The Orleans Parish Marriage License Office is located at Benson Tower, 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 407, in downtown New Orleans. Licenses are issued between 8:15 a.m. and 3:15 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding state holidays). The licenses are valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana.
Be sure to check on times and locations as they have changed since the Storm. New Orleans Second City Court, 225 Morgan St. Algiers, LA., phone 504/368-4099 also issues licenses they are across the River with limited office hours.
OTHER LICENSE OFFICES IN NEW ORLEANS AREA
JEFFERSON PARISH (WEST BANK)
Second and Derbigny
Clerk of Court, Suite 2300
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm Mon - Fri
License Fee: $31.25 cash only
JEFFERSON PARISH EAST BANK
Joseph S. Yenni Building
1221 Elmwood Park Blvd
Clerk of Court, Room 603A
Harahan, LA - 504-736-6393
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Mon.-Fri.
License Fee: $31.25 Cash only
ST. TAMMANY PARISH (COVINGTON)
Parish Courthouse, 701 Columbia
Clerk of Court, Covington (985) 809-8745
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm Mon. - Fri.
Fees: $25.00 cash only
ST. BERNARD PARISH
St. Bernard Hwy.
Clerk of Court, Chalmette, LA
Hours: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm Mon. - Fri
License Fee: $25.00 Cash or Check
Other Louisiana Clerks Of Court
800 Buchanan Street Lafayette, LA
501 Texas Street Shreveport, LA
1000 Ryan St.
Lake Charles, LA
4001 Carter Street Vidalia, LA
See more marriage License Offices at
Minister E-Mail Address
Célébrants de mariages. Cérémonies de
Cérémonies personnalisées de mariage, Civiles, non confessionnelles, à
L'emplacement de votre choix, execute par Dr.Schwehm.
Member of the American Association of